Thrift store portraits: amazing or creepy?

I love a good thrift store portrait. I love portraiture in general really, particularly the weird kind. Last year, I stumbled across this bizarrely androgynous character at a thrift shop near the Gowanus Canal. I bought it for $30. The canvas is roughly 2 by 2 1/2 feet, and I love it. He/she gazes out the window in my bedroom.

Processed with VSCOcam

Some of my favorite bloggers/designers love weirdo oil paintings too. See:

Via Style by Emily Henderson

Via The Brick House

Via SF Girl by Bay

white campaign dresserVia Style by Emily Henderson, again

# # #

Obviously, there’s a real danger for thrift store portraits to be ultra creepy. Don’t believe me? Try searching for “portrait” on eBay. I think the bigger question is: what does it mean that we fill our homes with portraits of strangers while most photos of  family and loved ones live on our phones or on our computers or on Facebook?

Leave a Reply

