Ribbons in the sky

When we moved into my current apartment, my bedroom was the previous tenants’ children’s room. They left behind dark navy curtains, made from a kind of linen-cotton-poly blend. Boring, but free fabric! This is the story of what happened to those curtains. (I’ve got you hooked, don’t I?)

Sad before picture of my bedroom

I thought that at some point, I wanted to build out a headboard, maybe something like what Daniel at Manhattan Nest did many moons ago here with an army surplus blanket and an Ikea frame (man, oh, man, is that fella talented or what?! have you seen his recent kitchen reno? un-flipping-real, but I digress). At the time, I was working a lot of hours, so it seemed overwhelming to pull off a proper headboard. Also, I don’t actually ever sit up in bed reading. I’m either lying completely horizontal, or I’m not in bed at all. Come to think of it, this might be a chicken and egg situation: do I not sit up in bed because I don’t have a headboard, or do I not have a headboard because I don’t sit up in bed? While we all contemplate these deep questions, I’ll move on with the point of this post.

I had seen these types of ribbon garlands on Pinterest: here, here and here, for example. At first I thought they looked too girly or sloppy for my taste. Nevertheless, I decided to try the same, but monochromatic because I was trying to stick to white, navy and black for my bedroom. I had the old navy curtains lying around from the previous tenants, so I just shredded those, tied them to a piece of twine and strung it above my bed where a headboard might go.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

I’ve been living with it for a while now and still happy, though a headboard is not out of the question.

I’m gonna let Stevie slow-jam the end of this post for you.

Leave a Reply

